IAAF Development Program

Kids Athletics - Nestle

Coaches Corner


Facebook RDC San Juan

IAAF Rules 2014 - 2015
English Arabic Chinese (Simplified) French German Italian Japanese Korean Portuguese Russian Spanish
Vinaora Visitors Counter
mod_vvisit_counterThis week727
mod_vvisit_counterLast week809
mod_vvisit_counterThis month2583
mod_vvisit_counterLast month0
mod_vvisit_counterAll days102583

postheadericon USA - IAAF RDC San Juan/USATF Women’s Conference

Report: IAAF RDC San Juan/USATF Women’s Conference
Miami, Florida, May 9-10, 2014

The IAAF RDC San Juan in collaboration with USATF hosted the annual Women’s Conference in Miami, Florida from May 9-10, 2014.

In attendance were thirty eight (38) participants representing 22 MF’s namely: AIA, ANT, ARU, BAH, BAR, BER, IVB, CAN, CRC, CUB, DMA, ESA, GRN,GUA, JAM, NCA, PUR, SKN, VIN, TTO, TKS and USA. Also present were representatives from APA, NACAC and the RDC San Juan along with two guests MF’s – SUR and MTQ.

The objective of this Women’s Conference was to advance the NACAC Area Women’s Strategic Plan aimed at enhancing the participation of women in the sport of track and field athletics in the region and ultimately the world. This was developed at the last conference in Hamilton, Bermuda.

Four commissions were formed last year namely:
- Code of Conduct – Chairperson – Terry Crawford (USA)
- Education and Certification – Chairperson – Evelyn Lopez (APA)
- Advanced Gender Equity and Sponsorships – Chairperson – Stephanie Hightower (USA)
- Network Communications and Circulation of Reports – Chairperson – Dorett J. Levy (RDC San Juan)

Each chair made reports on their commissions. New participants were invited to join the commission of their choice.

Specially invited guests comprising Olympians and other notable “heavy weights” from USATF were in attendance for the “Open Forum” which was moderated by Jill Geer, member of the IAAF Women’s Commission.

The curtain came down on the 2014 edition of the IAAF RDC San Juan Women’s Activity with a dinner hosted by USATF. Jackie Joyner-Kersee – three time Olympic Gold medallist was the guest speaker.

Special thanks to USATF for doing a fantastic job as co-host, especially to Renee Washington with whom the RDC representative Dorett J. Levy collaborated directly during the planning of this activity. Renee and her team were instrumental in helping to finalize the Agenda and effectively managed local logistics of the conference.

The consensus was that this Women’s Conference was a success. The women were again charged with the responsibilities to go back to their respective countries to establish or activate National Women’s Committees. The challenge is for them to make a difference where the involvement of women in athletics is concerned and to send reports highlighting the work of women in their NF to the IAAF RDC San Juan to be posted on the website.


Participants List

  1. Wilma Proctor AIA  Chief Coach
  2. Lorna D. Rogers AIA  President
  3. Judy King-Blackman ANT   Treasurer
  4. Evelyn Claudio Lopez APA   General Secretary/Chair of NACAC Area Women’s Committee
  5. Evelyn B. Farrell ARU   President
  6. Sharon Gardiner BAH   Asst. Treasurer
  7. Mabeline Miller BAH   Asst. Secretary
  8. Philippa Arnett-Willie BAH   Treasurer
  9. Pauline Davis - Thompson BAH   IAAF Council Member
  10. Catherine Jordan BAR   President
  11. Esther Maynard BAR   Member IAAF Technical Committee
  12. Mia Black BER   Executive Member
  13. Delva Thomas IVB   Secretary
  14. Carla Nicholls CAN   Leader of Women in Coaching
  15. Geen Clarke CRC   Vice President
  16. Maria Caridad Colon CUB   Chairperson Women’s Committee
  17. Fenella Wenham DMA   Vice President
  18. Gloria Elizabeth Ramos ESA   General Secretary
  19. Claudia Francis GRN   Treasurer
  20. Adriana Alejandra Rivas Veliz GUA   Executive Member
  21. Vilma Charlton JAM 4th   Vice President
  22. Jacqueline (Nikki) Miller JAM   Admin. Officer HPTC - Kingston
  23. Susan Garcia MTQ   Executive Member
  24. Xiomara Larios Toruna NCA   President
  25. Teresa Galarza Melendez PUR   Assistant Team Manager
  26. Dorett J. Levy RDC SJ   Administrative Secretary
  27. Grace Maritza Dias SKN   Women’s Representative
  28. Jacintha Ballantyne VIN   Treasurer
  29. Letitia Vriesde SUR   President
  30. Lucretia Warner-Burns TTO   Executive Member
  31. Edith Skippings TKS   President
  32. Terry Crawford USA   Director of Coaching
  33. Stephanie Hightower USA   President
  34. Talia Mark USA   Associate Director Elite Athlete Relations
  35. Sandy Snow USA   Director – International Teams
  36. Aretha Thurmond USA   Associate Director of International Teams
  37. Anne Phillips Timmons USA   IAAF Women’s Committee
  38. Renee Washington USA   Chief Operating Officer
may 2014 womens activity - olympians in attendance at the conference
may 2014 womens activity - welcome
may 2014 womens activity 4
may 2014 womens activity 5